Transom replacement

Discussion forum for the Otter class of sailing dinghy

Moderator: aptanet

Pom

Transom replacement

Post by Pom »

Hi all

I am new to sailing (excluding pre-teens mucking about on the river) so found a nice little otter to sail. From the information i could find they are forgiving mistresses and more child friendly than the majority of sailing dinghys out there. Mine is Number 255 i believe (The previous owner supplied the unmatched sails).

I am booked on to a couple of courses over the summer to learn to sail and hope to get my sons involved as soon as possible (6 and 8 ). I have oars and am buying a little outboard so all the family can putle arround with me.

But....... I need to replace the wooden part of the transom as it is pretty degraded and may not cope with the 3.3hp outboard i am bidding for. Either way i need to do a bit of wood work to get it up to scratch. Should i replace both internal and external wood like for like? The bit that supports the rudder on the inside is my main concern so i am thinking of putting a wider peice (12- 18" instead of 4") and re-GRPing over it. does it sound like plan or madness?

Oh and for those asking about rigging. The Very kind chap who sold me the boat showed me how he used to set it up and it all looks very simple. So here is the best picture i could get.

Cheers All

Pom

ben

Re: Transom replacement

Post by ben »